APL Board of Trustees Elects Officers

July 20, 2020 | Library News

The Albany Public Library Board of Trustees elected officers at its annual meeting on July 14, 2020.

The new board officers, who will each serve one-year terms from July 2020 through June 2021, are: President Matthew Finn, Vice President Jenna Pitera, Vice President for Finance Sarah Shearer, and Secretary Karen Strong. This is Finn’s first term as president. Pitera previously served as board secretary for one year. Shearer continues as vice president for finance in her second term. And, Strong previously served as board president for three years.

Also at the meeting, two newly elected trustees, Brigitte Pryor and Thomas McCarthy, Jr., were sworn into office. Pryor is beginning a five-year term. McCarthy, who just finished a one-year term on the board, is also starting a full five-year term.

All APL regular board meetings take place on the second Tuesday of each month and start at 6:00 pm. The public is invited to attend the meetings, which include public comment sections at the start and end of each meeting. Since the library’s buildings closed in mid-March due to the pandemic, board meetings have been taking place virtually with livestreams available for the public to watch.

More information about the library’s trustees, as well as board meeting agendas, livestream links, minutes, and videos, can be found on the library’s website.

Stephanie Simon

Stephanie Simon is manager of APL's Communication and Creative Services Department, which provides content and information for the library's website, social media, publications, videos, podcasts, and other outlets. Stephanie also manages APL's public relations and marketing efforts.