12 Candidates for APL Trustee Election on May 21

May 6, 2024 | Library News

Updated 5/14/24

Twelve candidates will be on the May 21 ballot for three seats on the Albany Public Library Board of Trustees.

The following Albany residents submitted valid nominating petitions to the City School District of Albany and will appear on the ballot in this order:
(1)    Daniel Schneider of Crescent Dr., 12208
(2)    Zachary Cunningham of Park Ave., 12208
(3)    Carlos Velasquez of Jefferson St., 12210
(4)    Paige Allen of Jay St., 12210
(5)    Jennifer Marlow of Tallmadge Pl., 12208
(6)    Bradford Lachut of Western Ave., 12203
(7)    Kirsten Broschinsky of Edgewood Ave., 12203
(8)    Paul Collins-Hackett of Park Ave., 12202
(9)    Marsha Lazarus of Colonial Ave., 12208
(10)  Tia Anderson of N. Allen St., 12203
(11)   Mary A. Rosch of Mercer St., 12208
(12)  Daniel Plaat of Elk St., 12210

Of the three available seats, two carry full five-year terms, which commence on July 1, 2024. The two full terms will go to the two highest vote-getters. The remaining one-year term commences after the election and ends in May 2025. The one-year term will go to the third highest vote-getter.

Read the voter information guide, which includes trustee candidate statements

View the candidate forum on YouTube

More details about the library budget vote, which also takes place on May 21, and trustee election are posted on the library’s budget page

Stephanie Simon

Stephanie Simon is manager of APL's Communication and Creative Services Department, which provides content and information for the library's website, social media, publications, videos, podcasts, and other outlets. Stephanie also manages APL's public relations and marketing efforts.